Deo Gratias

Hump day is here! (Hmmm, I wonder where that camel from the GEICO commercial is?)

Yes, with the arrival of Wednesday, the week is halfway over. This would be a good time to stop and be thankful for the blessings we have received so far this week. Fellow Catholic blogger Colleen Spiro hosts a weekly meme called “Deo Gratias” (Latin for “Thanks be to God”) for just this very thing.

What am I grateful for this week? Well, I’m grateful for…

  • Sunday mass. Getting nourished with the Word and the Sacraments is always cause for thanksgiving. Plus, I got to sit down with acquaintances after the service and enjoy coffee, donuts, and fellowship.
  • Being able to get through tae kwon do class yesterday evening, in spite of some back pain I’d been experiencing sine Saturday. I think I pulled a muscle during Saturday morning’s class, but the discomfort is gone now.
  • Unseasonably warm weather. It’s been overcast and rainy today, but thankfully Old Man Winter isn’t battering us in all his fury like some parts of the country are getting. (Along with that, I’d add that I’m grateful to be in the South, not the Frost Belt!)
  • God’s grace to see me through the problems I’ve been facing. Just as St. Paul discusses in 2 Corinthians, God’s grace is proving sufficient, and His strength is made perfect in weakness.

So, a happy Hump Day to all, and Deo Gratias!

 

2 responses to “Deo Gratias

  1. Evan, I love your list. Especially Mass and God’s grace. Awesome. Glad your back pain is gone. Thanks for joining me!

  2. What a wonderful list of thanksgiving! I’m a bit envious of your warm weather. I love the snow, but this winter has really given us enough!

    Going to Mass this past Sunday was my first time out since my surgery & our family’s bout w/ the flu, so Mass was even more special for me this past week!

Leave a comment